Saturday 18th September 2021

Governor Kim Reynolds has set Tuesday, October 12th as the date for a special election for a new state representative from Jasper County. Democrat Wes Breckenridge resigned from his post last week after taking a job at the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy.

As tomorrow’s filing deadline approaches, only four candidates have filed for positions on the Marshalltown City Council.

Jeff Schiender and Barry Kell have submitted the paperwork for the two at-large positions open. Dex Walker has filed for the third ward and Mike Ladehoff is seeking to continue as the first ward councilor. As of yesterday, there were no filings for the position of Mayor. The deadline to submit the paperwork is four tomorrow afternoon,