Sunday 12th July 2020

Three new Republican senators will be sworn into office as the 2019 Legislative Session begins. That means Republicans will occupy 32 of the 50 seats in the state senate. Republicans will hold 54 of the 100 seats in the HOUSE.  A dozen Democrats and 10 Republicans will be sworn in as new members there.

The House and Senate will begin their day at 10 o’clock. A special committee will be appointed in the House to begin reviewing the challenge of a northeast Iowa legislative race. Democrat Kayla Koether (KAY-ter) of Decorah is asking that absentee ballots without a postmark that were mailed in time be counted. About a month ago, Republican Representative Michael Bergen of Dorchester was certified the winner in the race – by a nine-vote margin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>